“Science is a way of thinking much more than it is a body of knowledge.” Carl Sagan.
In its initiative to promote participatory and hands-on learning in Science, National Public School, Banashankari organizes Sci-Quest at junior and senior levels every year. The fest aims at providing common platform to students to give shape to their innovative ideas and learn from each other’s experiences. This year NPS Banashankari organized Sci-Quest on the 17th of August, 2019 where students showcased their talents on creativity and innovation. The event was categorized into model making contest called ‘Spectra’ and science quiz called ‘Quizathon’ along with the science speech contest called ‘Sci-Talk’.
The Saturday morning programme began with the lighting of the lamp followed by a prayer song. Principal Madam Shyamashree Chatterjee in her welcome address said that Sci-Quest 2019 is as an annual event conducted to motivate the young to develop a scientific bent of mind. Shreelata Sharma, HOD Science department, set the tone of the programme by introducing the programme and stating the rules of the contest.
The Sci-Quest witnessed the participation of 90 students across 14 different schools who displayed their innovative talents. The events were evaluated by a panel of distinguished judges who were renowned scholars and associate professors from PES university, each of them a stalwart in the field of education and research.
This year’s rolling trophy goes to NPS Kengeri. Our school participant Skanda S won the first prize in Sci-talk (Junior), Ananya N won second prize for Sci-talk (Senior). Akhil Pranav G and M Sai Anirudh secured second position in model making contest for Spectra (Junior).
It was heartening to note that the students had been inspired to conceptualize and initiate their personal scientific journey through self-motivation and with a concern for sustainability and inclusivity. Sci-Quest 2019 was a day of learning, a day of understanding our world, and after all, a day of appreciating the elegance of science.